logo

Janice Lynn Mather
Learning to Breathe





Sixteen-year-old Indy struggles to conceal her pregnancy while searching for a place to belong in this stunning debut novel that’s perfect for fans of Amber Smith and Sara Zarr.

Indira Ferguson has done her best to live by her Grammy’s rules—to study hard in school, be respectful, and to never let a boy take advantage of her. But it hasn’t always been easy, especially while living in her mother’s shadow.

When Indy is sent to live with distant relatives in Nassau, trouble follows her. Now she must hide an unwanted pregnancy from her aunt, who would rather throw Indy out onto the street than see the truth.

Completely broke with only a hand-me-down pregnancy book as a resource, Indy desperately looks for a safe space to call home. After stumbling upon a yoga retreat, she wonders if perhaps she’s found the place. But Indy is about to discover that home is much bigger than just four walls and a roof—it’s about the people she chooses to share it with.


Praise for Janice Lynn Mather's Learning to Breathe:

Finalist, HarperCollins/UBC Prize for Best New Fiction (2015)

"An engaging young adult novel that tells the story of a Caribbean teenager who . . . must find the strength to overcome society’s low expectations."
—HarperCollins/UBC Prize for Best New Fiction jury citation


Praise for Janice Lynn Mather:

Finalist, Commonwealth Short Story Prize (2013)
Finalist, Commonwealth Short Story Prize (2012)
Finalist, Small Axe Literary Competition (2011)


Genre: YA Fiction
Length: 320 pages (hc)
Publication Date: June 2018


North American English rights, Simon & Schuster

For all other rights contact The Cooke Agency.
Author Name
JANICE LYNN MATHER has practiced yoga on beaches and under trees for the past sixteen years, and holds an MFA from the University of British Columbia. She was shortlisted for the Commonwealth Short Story Prize in 2012 and 2013. Her writing has appeared in anthologies Pepperpot: Best New Anthologies from the Caribbean; We Have A Voice and A Sudden And Violent Change, and in journals including Tongues Of The Ocean, Chameleon, and Fugue. She was shortlisted for the HarperCollins/UBC Prize for Best New Fiction in 2015 for this novel. You can learn more about her on her website: www.janicelynnmather.com.