C.C. Benison
Twelve Drummers Drumming (Twelve Deaths of Christmas, book 1)

Twelve Drummers Drumming by C.C. BenisonFeaturing the enormously likeable widower and Anglican priest Tom Christmas—Father Christmas to South Devon’s wiseasses—who seeks haven for himself and his daughter in an English village following the murder of his wife. Trouble is, wherever there is Christmas—or at least Tom Christmas—someone is likely to turn up dead.

With Twelve Drummers Drumming, the first in the series where each book is based on a verse of the carol, Tom Christmas discovers the body of a young woman stowed inside a taiko drum at the village hall. The death is soon ruled a homicide, but for Tom her death is as much a puzzle as the disappearance of the previous pastor. The town is shaken, motives surface, and everyone is a suspect.

Hitting the highest notes for cozy mystery series, Twelve Deaths of Christmas is for fans of Alan Bradley, Martin Walker, and Louise Penny.

Praise for C.C. Benison’s Twelve Drummers Drumming:

"This splendid first in a new whodunit series. . . An intelligent and empathic protagonist and skillful prose make this a winner." —Publisher's Weekly (starred review)

"[C. C.] Benison does an admirable job balancing humor with suspense. . . . Father Christmas's first case leaves you eager for his next." —The Wall Street Journal

"Who knew that a successor to Agatha Christie was living and writing in Winnipeg? Twelve Drummers Drumming will please the most discriminating lover of the traditional British mystery. It has a village, a vicar, atmosphere to burn and a perfectly constructed puzzle plot. . . This smart, well-written book promises a fine series." —The Globe & Mail

Genre: Fiction/Cozy Mystery
Length: 383 pp
Setting: England
Period: contemporary

English, North American rights, Bantam
For all other rights contact The Cooke Agency.

  C.C. Benison C.C. Benison is the pseudonym of Winnipeg writer Doug Whiteway. His Her Majesty Investigates series has been translated into three languages, and the first book of the series, Death at Buckingham Palace won an Arthur Ellis Award for best first mystery novel.