Deryn Collier
Confined Space



 




Confined Space by Deryn CollierA twisting page turner that delivers break-neck action by a fantastic new voice, for fans of Louise Penny and Giles Blunt

When respected ex–Canadian Forces commander Bern Fortin cuts short his military career to take a job as the coroner for a small mountain town in the heart of BC, he’s hoping to leave the past behind. Bern’s looking forward to a quiet life, but the memories of what he witnessed during his stints in Afghanistan and other war-torn countries haunt him still.

When the body of one of the workers is found floating in the huge bottle-washing tank at the local brewery, Bern is called in for a routine investigation. What first appears to be a tragic accident takes a menacing turn when the body of the worker’s girlfriend is discovered in a nearby field. Bern needs the help of brewery safety investigator Evie Chapelle, who, burdened by tragedies she might have prevented, is more determined than ever to keep her workers, and their tight-knit community, safe. Soon, Bern and Evie find themselves risking their jobs—and their lives—to uncover a killer hiding in a place where it is awfully hard to keep a secret.

Deryn Collier’s debut novel is a taut mystery full of suspense. Confined Space was shortlisted for the Arthur Ellis Award for best unpublished first crime novel by the Crime Writers of Canada.




Praise for Deryn Collier’s Confined Space:

Shortlisted for the 2010 Arthur Ellis Award for Best Unpublished First Crime Novel

“Fans of Dana Stabenow and Deborah Crombie rejoice! Deryn Collier's maiden outing is superbly written, densely layered, and marvelously suspenseful. Confined Space is a tour-de-force heralding an explosive new series guaranteed to please the traditional mystery lover.”
—Julia Spencer-Fleming, New York Times-bestselling author of One Was a Soldier

“The kind of book to curl up with and savour...but maybe not with a beer. Bern Fortin is an enigmatic coroner with a deeply layered past. Believable characters and a multi-layered plot. A thoroughly enjoyable read. Deryn Collier's debut novel keeps you up late reading to find out more.”
—Peggy Blair, Author

 


Length: 400 pp
Genre/Category: Mystery/Crime Fiction



English (Canada) rights, Simon & Schuster

For all other rights contact The Cooke Agency.


Deryn Collier   Deryn Collier is a freelance communication specialist, coordinator for the Crime Writers of Canada mentorship program, has worked on a military inquiry as a research analyst, and recently found herself a witness in a murder investigation. While she lives far away from any crowds, Deryn is always connected to the world through social media. Through her blog at http://deryncollier.com/blog she carries on an ongoing conversation with readers about writing, life and favourite first crime novels.