A Lee Martinez
In the Company of Ogres



 


In the Company of Ogres by A Lee MartinezAn uproarious new novel in the tradition of Robert Asprin and Terry Pratchett!

For someone who’s immortal, Never Dead Ned manages to die with alarming frequency—he just has the annoying habit of rising from the grave. But this soldier might be better dead than face his latest assignment. 

Ogre Company is the legion’s dumping ground—a motley, undisciplined group of monsters whose leaders tend to die under somewhat questionable circumstances. That’s where Ned’s rather unique talents come in. As Ogre Company’s newly appointed commander, Ned finds himself in charge of such fine examples of military prowess as a moonstruck Amazon, a very big (and very polite) two-headed ogre, a seductively scaly siren, a blind oracle who can hear (and smell) the future, a suicidal goblin daredevil pilot, a walking tree with a chip on its shoulder, and a suspiciously goblinesque orc.

Ned has only six months to whip the Ogre Company into shape or face an even more hideous assignment, but that’s not the worst of his problems. Because now that Ned has found out why he keeps returning from dead, he has to do everything he can to stay alive. . . .

In the Company of Ogres does for fantasy, what A. Lee Martinez’s previous novel, Gil’s All Fright Diner, did for horror—and elves and goblins may never be the same!



Praise for A. Lee Martinez’s In the Company of Ogres:

“Martinez’s follow-up to Gil’s All Fright Diner is as joyfully fast paced and funny. Ogre Company tweaks fantasy clichés most excellently.” —Booklist
 
“Martinez’s broad humor should appeal to fans of the late Douglas Adams and other contemporary authors of comic fantasy.” —Library Journal



Genre/Category: Fantasy
Length: 336 pp



World rights, Tor Books
Czech rights, Triton Nakladatelstvi
German rights, Piper Verlag
Russian rights, AST

For all other rights contact The Cooke Agency.


   

A. Lee Martinez was born in El Paso, Texas.  At the age of eighteen, for no apparent reason, he started writing novels.  Thirteen short years (and a little over a dozen manuscripts) later, his first novel, Gil’s All Fright Diner, was published.  His hobbies include juggling, games of all sorts, and astral projecting.  Also, he likes to sing along with the radio when he’s in the car by himself. 

A. Lee Martinez’s website can be found at www.aleemartinez.com.